Theater on the Lake to Receive Special Award

 Non-Equity Jeff Awards

To Present Special Jeff Award

To Theater on the Lake


May 4, 2012 - Chicago, IL.  At the Non-Equity Jeff Awards Ceremony on June 4, 2012, a Special Jeff Award will be presented to the Theater on the Lake of the Chicago Park District in honor of the theater’s 60th anniversary in June 2012 and in recognition of its long contribution to the vitality of the city’s theatre scene. Since its debut, the Theater on the Lake has promoted live theatre by showcasing a diverse body of productions by local performing arts organizations, generally non-equity. In a beautiful location in Lincoln Park on the edge of Lake Michigan, Theater on the Lake annually offers a summer season, with low-ticket prices, made up of some of the most exciting small productions from the previous year. As a result, Theater on the Lake has often brought new audiences to theatre and introduced existing theatre lovers to a wider range of performing arts companies.


The Special Award will be presented June 4 as part of the 39th Annual Non-Equity Jeff Awards Ceremony celebrating excellence in Chicago-area non-equity theatre. The ceremony will be held at Park West, opening with a cash bar at 6 p.m. The awards presentation will begin at 7:30 p.m.


Over the years, the Theater on the Lake has evolved from a showcase of amateur theatre to a diverse sampling of work by a wide range of the city’s outstanding professional theatre companies. This year, new co-curators Michael Patrick Thornton (artistic director of The Gift Theatre Company) and Meghan Beals McCarthy (associate artistic director of Chicago Dramatists) selected eight recent productions from around the city. Each will perform for one week. Additional programming, including live music and story-telling, will be announced later. More information can be found at


The 39th Annual Non-Equity Jeff Awards Ceremony will be held on Monday, June 4, 2012, at the Park West, 322 W. Armitage, Chicago, IL. Doors open for a cash bar at 6:00 p.m., with a light buffet at 6:30 p.m., and the presentation ceremony at 7:30 p.m. Tickets are $40 in advance, $45 at the door. A group rate of $35 is available for parties of 10 or more. Festive cocktail attire is suggested, and the public is cordially invited. Tickets may be purchased online with a credit card at or by mail with the downloadable mail-order form. For more information contact Doug Bradburd, Non-Equity Wing Chair, at Follow live twitter feeds from the ceremony and behind the scenes at @josephjefferson. 


The Jeff Awards has been honoring outstanding theatre artists annually since it was established in 1968. With an active contingent of 50 members representing a wide variety of backgrounds in theatre, the Jeff Awards is committed to celebrating the vitality of Chicago area theatre by recognizing excellence through its recommendations, awards, and honors. The Jeff Awards fosters the artistic growth of area theatres and theatre artists and promotes educational opportunities, audience appreciation, and civic pride in the achievements of the theatre community. The Jeff Awards evaluates over 250 theatrical productions and holds two awards ceremonies annually. Originally chartered to recognize only Equity productions, the Jeff Awards established the Non-Equity Wing in 1973 to celebrate outstanding achievement in non-union theatre. The next Equity Awards Ceremony, honoring productions presented under union contracts, will be held on Monday, October 15, 2012, at the Drury Lane Oakbrook in Oakbrook Terrace.